Museums and Other Institutions

These names can be shortened in prose, e.g. Wheelwright Museum instead of Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian.

Bar Harbor, ME
Abbe Museum, 26 Mount Desert Street | (207) 288-3519 | abbemuseum.org

Anchorage, AK
Alaska Native Heritage Center, 8800 Heritage Center Drive | (907) 330-8000 | alaskanative.net

Albuquerque, NM
Albuquerque Museum, 2000 Mountain Road NW | (505) 243-7255 | albuquerquemuseum.org

Minneapolis, MN
All My Relations Gallery, 1414 E. Franklin Avenue | (612) 235-4970 | allmyrelationsarts.com

Kodiak, AK
Alutiiq Museum, 215 Mission Road, No. 101 |(907) 486-7004 | alutiiqmuseum.org

Dragoon, AZ
Amerind Foundation, 2100 N. Amerind Road | (520) 586-3666 | amerind.org

Fort Worth, TX
Amon Carter Museum of American Art, 3501 Camp Bowie Boulevard | (817) 738-1933 | cartermuseum.org

Tucson, AZ
Arizona State Museum, 1013 E University Boulevard | (520) 621-6302 | statemuseum.arizona.edu

Hamilton, ON
Art Gallery of Hamilton, 123 King Street West | +1 (905) 527-6610 | artgalleryofhamilton.com

Toronto, ON
Art Gallery of Toronto, 317 Dundas Street | +1 (877) 225-4246 | ago.ca

Windsor, ON
Art Gallery of Windsor, 401 Riverside Drive West | +1 (519) 977-0013 | agw.ca

Montréal, QC
Art Mûr, 5826 Rue St-Hubert | +1 (514) 933-0711 | artmur.com

Washington, DC
Art Museum of the Americas, 201 18th Street NW | (202) 370-0149 | museum.oas.org

Autry National Center

Autry National Center

Los Angeles, CA
Autry Museum of the American West, 4700 Western Heritage Way | (323) 667-2000 | theautry.org

Minneapolis, MN
Bockley Gallery. 2123 W. 21st Street | (612) 377-4669 | bockleygallery.com

Cody, WY
centerofthewest.orgBuffalo Bill Center of the West, 720 Sheridan Avenue | (307) 587-4771 |

London, UK
British Museum, Great Russell Street | +44 20 7323 8299 | britishmuseum.org

Seattle, WA
Burke Museum of Natural History and Culture, UW Campus, 17th Ave. NE and NE 45th Street | (206) 543-5590 | burkemuseum.org

Davis, CA
C. N. Gorman Museum, University of California, 1 Shields Avenue #1316 | (530) 752-6567 | gormanmuseum.ucdavis.edu

Collinsville, IL
Cahokia Mounds State Historic Site, 30 Ramey Street | (618) 346-5160 | cahokiamounds.org

Sacramento, CA
California State Indian Museum, 2618 K Street | (916) 324-0971 | parks.ca.gov

Quito, Ecuador
Casa del Alabado, Cuenca N1-41 | +593 2-228-0940 | alabado.org

Park Hill, OK
Cherokee Heritage Center, 21192 S. Keeler Drive | (918) 456-6007 | cherokeeheritage.org

Ft. Collins, CO
multiple galleries at Colorado State University, art.colostate.edu

Various (MA and RI)
Cultural Survival Bazaar, bazaar.culturalsurvival.org

Bentonville, AR
Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art
600 Museum Way | (479) 418-5700 | crystalbridges.org

Rapid City, SD
Dahl Arts Center, 713 7th Street | (605) 394-4104 | thedahl.org

San Francisco, CA
de Young, 50 Hagiwara Tea Garden Drive | (415) 750-3600 | deyoung.famsf.org

Denver, CO
Denver Art Museum, 100 W. 14th Avenue Parkway | (720) 865-5000 | denverartmuseum.org

Indianapolis, IN
Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art, 500 W. Washington Street | (317) 636-9378 | eiteljorg.org

Norman, OK
Fred Jones Jr. Museum of Art, 555 Elm Avenue | (405) 325-3272 | ou.edu/fjjma.html

Portland, OR
Froelick Gallery, 714 NW Davis Street | (503) 222-1142 | froelickgallery.com

Tulsa, OK
Gilcrease Museum
1400 N. Gilcrease Museum Road, (918) 596-2700 | gilcrease.utulsa.edu

Calgary, AB
Glenbow Museum, 130 9th Avenue SE | +1 (403) 268-4100 | glenbow.org

Lincoln, NE
Great Plains Art Museum, 1155 Q Street | (402) 472-3082 | unl.edu/plains

Vancouver, BC
grunt gallery, 350 E. 2nd Avenue #116 | +1 604-875-9516 | grunt.ca

heard_museum

Heard Museum

Heard Museum
2301 N. Central Ave., Phoenix, AZ
(602) 252-8840 | heard.org/exhibits

Pine Ridge, SD
The Heritage Center at Red Cloud Indian School, 100 Mission Drive | (605) 867-5491 | redcloudschool.org/museum

Hanover, NH
Hood Museum of Art, Dartmouth College | (603) 646-2808 | hoodmuseum.dartmouth.edu

Ganado, AZ
Hubbell Trading Post National Historic Site, 1/2 Arizona 264 | (928) 755-3475 | nps.gov/hutr

Arcata, CA
Goudi’ni Native American Arts Gallery,
Humboldt State University | (707) 826-5253 | www2.humboldt.edu/art/galleries.html | Facebook

Albuquerque, NM
Indian Pueblo Cultural Center, 2401 12th Street NW | (505) 843-7270 | indianpueblo.org

Santa Fe, NM
IAIA Museum of Contemporary Native Arts
(formerly the Institute of American Indian Arts Museum),
108 Cathedral Place | (505) 983-1666 | iaia.edu/museum
Their collection is the National Collection of Contemporary Native American Art.

Nuuk, Greenland
Katuaq Cultural Centre
Imaneq 21 | +299 36 37 70 | katuaq.gl

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA)
5905 Wilshire Boulevard | (323) 857-6000 | lacma.org

Barrie, ON
MacLaren Art Centre,  37 Mulcaster Street | +1 (705) 721-9696 | maclarenart.com

Roseville, CA
Maidu Museum and Historic Site, 1970 Johnson Ranch Drive | (916) 774-5934 | roseville.ca.us/parks/parks_n_facilities/facilities/maidu_indian_museum

Mashantucket, CT
Mashantucket Pequot Museum and Research Center, 110 Pequot Trail | (800) 411-9671 | pequotmuseum.org

Kleinberg, ON
McMichael Canadian Art Collection, 10365 Islington Avenue | +1 (905) 893-1121 | mcmichael.com

New York, NY
Metropolitan Museum of Art
and Met Fifth Avenue, 1000 5th Avenue | (212) 535-7710 | metmuseum.org

Emory, GA
Michael C. Carlos Museum, 571 South Kilgo Circle NE | (404) 727-4282 | carlos.emory.edu/exhibitions

El Prado, NM
Millicent Rogers Museum, 1504 Millicent Rogers Road | (575) 758-2462 | millicentrogers.org

Minneapolis, MN
Minneapolis Institute of Art, 2400 3rd Avenue South | (612) 870-3000 | new.artsmia.org

Missoula, MT
Missoula Art Museum, 335 N. Pattee Street | (406) 728-0447 | missoulaartmuseum.org

Evanston, IL
Mitchell Museum of the American Indian, 3001 Central Street | (847) 475-1030 | mitchellmuseum.org

Paris, France
Musée du quai Branly–Jacques Chirac, 37 Quai Branly | +33 1 56 61 70 00 | quaibranly.fr

Santiago, Chile
Museo Chileno de Arte Precolombino, Bandera 361 |+56 2 2928 1500 | precolombino.cl

Madrid, Spain
Museo de América, Av. de los Reyes Católicos 6 | +34 915 49 26 41 | mecd.gob.es/museodeamerica

Asunción, Paraguay
Museo de Arte Indígena | Museo de Barro, Grabadores del Kabichu’i | +595 21 607996 | museodelbarro.org

Cuernavaca, Mexico
Museo de Arte Indígena Contemporáneo (MAIC), Av. Morelos No. 275, col. Centro | +52 777 310 5700 | maicmuseum.org

Cusco, Peru
Museo de Arte Precolombino (MAP), Centro Histórico | +51 84 233-210 | link (official museum website is down)

Montevideo, Uruguay
Museo de Arte Precolombino e Indígena (MAPI), 25 de Mayo 279 | +598 (598) 2916 9360 | mapi.uy

Pueblo Libre, Peru
Museo Larco,  Av. Simón Bolivar 1515 | +51 1 4611312 | museolarco.org

Ciudad de México, D.F., Mexico
Museo Nacional de Antropología, Av Paseo de la Reforma y Calzada Gandhi S/N, Chapultepec Polanco, Miguel Hidalgo | +52 55 4040 5300 | mna.inah.gob.mx

Santiago de Surco, Peru
Museo Oro del Perú,
Jr. Alonso de Molina 1100 | +51 1 3451292 | museoroperu.com.pe

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Museu do Índio,
Rua das Palmeiras, 55 – Botafogo | +55 21 3214-8700 | museudoindio.gov.br

Warm Springs, OR
Museum at Warm Springs, 2189 US 26 | (541) 553-3331 | museumatwarmsprings.org

Santa Fe, NM
Museum of Indian Arts and Culture, 710 Camino Lejo | (505) 476-1269 | indianartsandculture.org

Bentonville, AR
Museum of Native American History, 202 SW O Street | (479) 273-2456 | monah.us

Flagstaff, AZ
Museum of Northern Arizona, 3101 N Fort Valley Road | (928) 774-5213 | musnaz.org

Window Rock, AZ
Navajo Nation Museum, Highway 264 and Loop Road | (928) 871-7941 | navajonationmuseum.org

Oklahoma City, OK
National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum, 1700 NE 63rd Street | (405) 478-2250 | nationalcowboymuseum.org

Washington, DC
National Museum of the American Indian, 4th Street & Independence Avenue SW | (202) 633-1000 | nmai.si.edu

NMAI George Gustav Heye Center

National Museum of the American Indian George Gustav Heye Center, New York. Photo: Samir Bitar.

New York, NY
National Museum of the American Indian George Gustav Heye Center, One Bowling Green | (212) 514-3700 | nmai.si.edu/visit/newyork

Kansas City, MO
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art, 4525 Oak Street | (816) 751-1278 | nelson-atkins.org

Overland Park, KS
Nerman Museum of Contemporary Art
12345 College Boulevard, (913) 469-8500 | nermanmuseum.org

Spokane, WA
Northwest Museum of Arts and Culture
2316 W. 1st Avenue, (509) 456-3931 | northwestmuseum.org

Great Falls, MT
Paris Gibson Square Museum of Art, 1400 First Avenue North | ( 406) 727-8255 | the-square.org

Salem, MA
Peabody Essex Museum (PEM), 161 Essex Street | (978) 745-9500 | pem.org

Cambridge, MA
Peabody Museum of Archaeology and Ethnology, 11 Divinity Avenue | (617) 496-1027 | peabody.harvard.edu

Tulsa, OK
Philbrook Downtown, 116 E. Matthew B. Brady Street | (918) 749-7941 | philbrook.org

Tulsa, OK
Philbrook Museum of Art, 2727 S. Rockford Road | (918) 749-7941 | philbrook.org

Fargo, ND
Plains Art Museum, 704 First Avenue North | (701) 551-6100 | plainsart.org/exhibits

poeh museum

Poeh Museum, Pojoaque, NM. Photo: Harrison Frazier (CC BY-SA 2.0)

Santa Fe, NM
Poeh Museum and Cultural Center, 78 Cities of Gold Road | (505) 455-3334 | poehcenter.org

Portland, OR
Portland Art Museum, 1219 SW Park Avenue | (503) 266-2811 | portlandartmuseum.org

Portland, ME
Portland Museum of Art, 7 Congress Street | (207) 775-6148 | portlandmuseum.org

Bristol, England, UK
Rainmaker Gallery, 123 Coldharbour | +44 117 944 3101 | rainmakerart.co.uk

Oklahoma City, OK
Red Earth Art Center, 6 Santa Fe Plaza | (405) 427-5228 | redearth.org

St. Louis, MO
Saint Louis Art Museum, 1 Fine Arts Drive | (314) 721-0072 | slam.org/exhibitions

Norman, OK
Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History, 2401 Chautauqua Avenue |
(405) 325-4712 | samnoblemuseum.ou.edu

San Diego, CA
San Diego Museum of Man, 1350 El Prado | (619) 239-2001 | museumofman.org

Aurora, IL
Schingoethe Center of Aurora University
1315 Prairie Street
(630) 844-7843 | aurora.edu/museum

Victor, NY
Seneca Art & Cultural Center
[They prefer the ampersand.]
7000 County Road 41
(585) 398-6151 | ganondagan.org

Anadarko, OK
Southern Plains Indian Museum
715 E. Central Boulevard
(405) 247-6221 | iacb.doi.gov

Seattle, WA
Stonington Gallery
125 S. Jackson Street
(206) 405-4040 | stoningtongallery.com

Kansas City, MO
Travois
310 W. 19th Terrace
(816) 994-8970 | travois.com

Fairbanks, AK
University of Alaska Museum of the North
907 Yukon Drive | (907) 474-7505 | uaf.edu/museum

Vancouver, BC
University of British Columbia Museum of Anthropology
6393 NW Marine Drive | +1 (604) 822-5087 | moa.ubc.ca

Philadelphia, PA
University of Pennsylvania Museum of Archaeology and Anthropology
3260 South Street
(215) 898-4000 | penn.museum

Winnipeg, MB
Urban Shaman Contemporary Aboriginal Art Gallery
203–290 McDermont Avenue
+1 (204) 942-2674 | urbanshaman.org

Vancouver, BC
Vancouver Art Gallery,
750 Hornby Street
+1 (604) 662-4700 | vanartgallery.bc.ca

Richmond, VA
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts,
200 N. Boulevard | (804) 340-1400 | vmfa.museum

Saskatoon, SK
Wanuskewin Heritage Park,
RR#4 Penner Road | +1 (306) 931-6767 | wanuskewin.com

Bemidji, MN
Walkermark Art Center,
505 Bemidji Ave North | (218) 444-7570 | watermarkartcenter.org

Santa Fe, NM
Wheelwright Museum of the American Indian,
704 Camino Lejo | (505) 982-4636 | wheelwright.org

Winnipeg, MB
Winnipeg Art Gallery (WAG),
300 Memorial Boulevard | +1 (204) 786-6641 | wag.ca

Brantford, ON
Woodland Cultural Centre,
184 Mohawk Street | +1 (519) 759-2650 | woodland-centre.on.ca

Toppenish, WA
Yakama Nation Cultural Heritage Center,
100 Spiel-yi Loop | (509) 865-2800 | yakamamuseum.com

Mt. Pleasant, MI
Ziibiwing Center of Anishinabe Culture and Lifeways,
6650 E. Broadway Road | (989) 775-4750 | sagchip.org/ziibiwing | blog