Indigenous art. Indigenous perspectives.

SWAIA Santa Fe Indian Market 2018 Best of Classification Winners


Best of Show and Best of Diverse Arts Classification Kevin Pourier (Oglala Lakota) from South Dakota

High stakes and high pressure for the judges and the artists—the Santa Fe Indian Best of Show Awards can launch careers or provide greatly deserved recognition for longstanding market artists. The offerings this year were ambitious and as diverse as the artists themselves, whole hail from the Pacific Coast to the Atlantic.

Ira Wilson

SWAIA executive director Ira Wilson (Diné) announces award winners

SWAIA executive direct Ira Wilson (Diné) announced the winners. Some artists were so overcome by emotion, they just had to take a deep breath and hold a moment of silence.

Among the numerous special awards were the IAIA Distinguished Alumni Award, which went to Shane Hendren (Diné) and the new Art of Technology Award, which went to Adrian Standing Elk Pinnecoose (Diné-Southern Ute).

A curious development was the elimination of Classification X: Moving Images. Its removal was not mentioned.

The 2018 Best of Show winner was Kevin Pourier (Oglala Lakota) for his inlaid buffalo horn concha belt, Winyan Wanakisin (Women Defenders of Others). In an emotionally stirring acceptance speech, Pourier thanked his wife, Valerie Pourier for inspiring him to celebrate the Indigenous women leaders throughout the centuries including the recent women who launched the Idle No More and Standing Rock movements.

Farrell Pacheco

Classification I. Jewelry: Farrell Pacheco (Kewa Pueblo)

Nancy Youngblood

Classification II. Pottery: Nancy Youngblood (Santa Clara Pueblo)

Cara Romero

Classification III. Two-dimensional: Cara Romero (Chemehuevi)


Mavasta Honyouti (Hopi)

Classification IV. Pueblo Wooden Carvings: Mavasta Honyouti (Hopi)

Theresa White

Classification V. Sculpture: Terresa White (Yup’ik)

Nellie Begay

Classification VI. Textiles: Nellie Begay (Diné)

Kevin Pourier

Classification VII. Diverse and Best of Show: Kevin Pourier (Oglala Lakota), “Winyan Wannakisin (Women Defenders of Others)

Dallin Maybee

Classification VIII. Beadwork/Quillwork: Dallin Maybee (Northern Arapaho-Seneca)

Isaak Kohlmeyer

Classification IX. Youth: Isaak Kohlmeyer (Jemez Pueblo)

Jeremy Frey

Classification XI. Baskety: Jeremy Frey (Passamaquaddy)


Leave A Reply