SWAIA Indian Market 2017 Best of Show Winners

Pat Pruitt

Pat Pruitt (Laguna Pueblo) is announced as the Best of Show winner. Photo: Melissa Dominguez.

The Best of Show Awards Ceremony is one of Indian Market’s most anticipated events, with this year’s honoring ceremony being no exception. Standing before a full house of sponsors, collectors, SWAIA staff, and eager members of the press all volleying for the best angles, this year’s inductees to SWAIA’s art all-stars hall of fame were celebrated and recognized for their artistic innovations and long-time excellence in the arts.
Presented by SWAIA’s Chief Development Officer, John D. Jones, and Chief Operating Officer, Dallin Maybee (Northern Arapaho-Seneca), 2017’s highest Market awards went to 19 individual artists.

The AARP Tradition Award marked 36 years of Market participation for Vanessa Jennings (Pima-Kiowa Apache-Kiowa), who expressed the importance of education and reminded us that “the best [teachings]come from our elders.” Pat Pruitt (Laguna Pueblo) took Best of Show for Sentinel 1.0, a futuristic-looking vessel composed of 850 individual metal components. —RoseMary Diaz (Santa Clara Tewa)

Class I. Jewelry: Wes Willy (Diné)

Angie Yazzie

Class II. Pottery. Angie Yazzie (Taos-Diné)

Cara Romero

Class III. Paintings, Drawings, Graphics, & Photography: Cara Romero (Chemehuevi)

Class IV. Wooden Pueblo Figurative Carvings & Sculpture: Arthur Holmes (Hopi)

Class V. Sculpture and Best of Show: Pat Pruitt (Laguna Pueblo)

Class VI. Textiles: Lola Cody (Navajo)

Class VII. Diverse Art Forms: Jamie Okuma (Luiseño-Shoshone-Bannock)

Class VIII. Beadwork & Quillwork: Carla Hemlock (Kahnawake Mohawk)

Rian Scott

Class IX. Youth: Rain Scott (Diné)

Class X. Moving Images: Steven Paul Judd (Kiowa-Choctaw)

Class XI. Basketry: Don Johnston (Qagan Tayagungin Unangan)


Leave A Reply